Progress: Adafruit 16×32 LED matrix on Arduino Due (5)

Past couple of days I’ve been working on abstracting and hiding the actual display driver code from the main Arduino project., this involves writing C++ code in an object oriented way. Although I’m used to work with objects in Java and C#, my experience with C++ classes, arrays  and pointers is rather limited. And so it took me quite some time to get it all working in an n-tier architecture, but in the end trial and error got me through it and at this moment it is working more or less okay. The phone camera is still taking messy pictures, but you get the picture I’d guess:

2014-04-12 11.43.17

 

The benefits from using this n-tier architecture is that now all driver code and display logic are concentrated in the same file, plus one can easily replace the driver without affecting code at other layers. While the color correctness is still not 100% working okay, my next goal is to add more logic that allows me to easily draw chars or circles or whatever. Furthermore it would also be great if I could send images over the serial bus and finally put some use to the driver I’ve been working on past few weeks. In the mean time also have a look at this guys project: http://bikerglen.com/projects/lighting/led-panel-1up/. He uses the same panel but instead uses an FPGA as hardware platform to drive the display. He clearly shows the power of FPGA’s in driving displays, to do the same in sequential microprocessor code things would get really complicated if not impossible to do.

2 thoughts on “Progress: Adafruit 16×32 LED matrix on Arduino Due (5)

  1. That is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and stay up for in search of more of
    your magnificent post. Additionally, I have shared your
    web site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

