Migrating to the Raspberry-Pi, part 2

Like I said, I was getting closer to my end-goal. What I have so far is a Java application which launches two service threads: one which handles TCP/IP requests and one which handles the IO. There is also a database connected to this server application and in case IO samples are received they will be saved in this database. I also made a JSP website which is capable of displaying the database data and should soon also be capable of sending TCP/IP requests to the TCP/IP service.

HOWEVER! It seems that the glassfish webserver is quite a burden to run on the Raspberry-Pi, the pages are showing but launching the service takes roughly 5 minutes. I have to find some lightweight service which offers the same functionality. But, this is something I’ll do later: as my deadline is coming nearer and nearer I’ll have to wrap up my work and put it into a test environment where I simulate a real life scenario. My next goal will be to make the service flexible in a way that once the application is running the user can dynamically adjust the configuration and stuff like this. I’ll have to program a console function which will allow the user to set up the XBee network and later on I can add the a more user friendly interface by using the JSP website as frontend.

Anyway, this week we have the Queima Das Fitas, a week full of ‘festivalitis’, and later on I have 3 more weeks to finish so I’m not sure if I’ll get all of  this working before the deadline (because in the meantime I also need to write up the thesis).

Queima!

http://www.queimadoporto.com/

Leave a Reply

