ZigBee network architecture

So far I was able to make a wireless chat channel in which every letter I typed on one computer would also appear at a second computer and vice versa (through my own Java software). As my task is to set up a communications network where we can query remote data of multiple sensors, you may have already guessed that the network design might get a bit more complicated than the basic AT mode point-to-point connections that I’ve been experimenting with so far. With ZigBee we have 3 different types of devices that can be found in a network:
Coordinator (PAN coordinator): this devices coordinates every networking traffic, it acts more or less like a gateway modem in most applications. There must always be at least one, and only one coordinator per network.
Router (full function device): this devices can act as an end device in such a way that it can receive commands and send I/O data, but furthermore it can also route data to other devices. Routers acts more or less like devices in between the coordinator and endpoints, they can for example extend the reach of a network when the transmitting power of the coordinator is not strong enough.
Endpoints (reduced function device): these are the most basic ZigBee devices and allow only queries to be executed or (I/O) to be send to the coordinator.

The above image shows few example of how XBee modules might be interconnected. We can determine few things from this picture:
1) the PAN coordinator is the one we’re going to have to connect to our RaspBerry-Pi linux server which we will use as gateway to our home IP network.
2) the more advanced network topology requires us to use API mode firmware on our XBee devices (see my previous post)

Also know that end devices do not need to be set up as API mode devices. API frames says something about the communication between our computer and our XBee module, not about what data is being transmitted in between XBee modules.

Most of this information kind be found in Robert Faludi’s book Building Wireless Sensor Networks (ISBN: 978-0-596-80773-3), which due to its practical examples is also recommended for every XBee/ZigBee newbie. Furthermore it seems that other people all ready have been working on implementing the ZigBee API in Java. Andrew Rapp has mode his code available at the following location: https://code.google.com/p/xbee-api/

At this moment I can confirm this API to be working in a test application, I have made a basic ZigBee network with one Coordinator API connected to my pc and another Router AT device at a remote location sending the analog voltage at its AD0 pin.
JavaAPItest

In real life I don’t actually use 2 computers though, I connect the two XBee modules to the same computer but at different USB ports. The idee remains the same though, we’re transmitting the data through the ether, not through the USB controller. The Arduino uController boards act as a USB to Serial converter (like mentioned in previous posts).

picture006

What’s next? I hope to have some good news about the delivery of the Raspberry-Pi computer, I’ll also try to set up a more advanced sensor network.

2 thoughts on “ZigBee network architecture

  1. Hello there, I discovered your blog by means of Google while
    searching for a similar subject, your web site got here up, it looks
    great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just changed into aware of your weblog thru Google, and located that it’s really informative.

    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate in case you proceed this in future. Many people will probably be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    • ikdoegpgpu says:

      Hi Barry, I haven’t signed any NDA so far so I hope to release some of my code around this summer. Regards.

Leave a Reply

