Settling down and stuff

It’s been… let me think… 21 days already! Arriving at night packed with 30 kilos on your back was the worst experience I had so far, and it wasn’t even that bad. From then on, things only got better. In 2 days I found myself a nice and affordable house to stay in for the next few months. It’s a typical Erasmus house, we’re here with 15 and we’re located in the old city center: all bars and pubs within walking distance! Who lives here? 4 Italians, 3 Austrians, 2 Brazilians, 1 Spanish girl, 1 British girl, and 4 Belgian people with myself included. I didn’t know anyone from before I got to Porto, but actually there’re a lot of Belgians in this city, it’s really surprisingly for such a small country. There is even someone from my house who goes to the same school as me in Belgium! So until now I’ve actually spoken Dutch most of the time, unfortunately, but I’ve subscribed for Portuguese courses so once I pick the basics I hope we can switch to Portuguese instead of using English, Italian, German or Dutch in our house. Or maybe I should get myself a Portuguese girlfriend, no?
Until know I’ve mostly just hung around in the city: some sightseeing, shopping, or relaxing at the beach… or explore the city by night… aaaah the good life!
Today was also my first day of school. Going to school with a massive hangover is maybe not the smartest thing to do, neither is it the most pleasant thing I did so far but all together I’m glad I can finally start working. I’d like to tell you some more about what I’m actually going to do here, I’d also like to show you some more Portuguese culture and historical buildings but I’ll do this in another time, it’s time for a nap now!

Xau Belgica!

4 thoughts on “Settling down and stuff

  1. davydewinne says:

    Hi!
    I’m curious about your work part 😉
    But I like to hear that you have a great time there. I look forward to visit you 😉

    Enjoy it! (also from the courses and projects)

    • ikdoegpgpu says:

      hey davydewinne, I’ll put some project details online by the end of the week, I’m still waiting for my supervisor to mail me the images that he gave me on paper earlier. I’ll also send you a document through mail regarding my project.

      Kind regards

Leave a Reply

